Newsletter Date: July 7
Meeting Date: June 24
Reporter: Holly Applegate
President Art introduced Peter Loescher as Master of Ceremonies for the 109th Installation. Peter was the 82nd President of our Providence Rotary Club which is the 22nd club out of 35,000 Rotary clubs in over 200 countries around the world. Peter welcomed the Boy Scouts of America to present the flag.
George Babcock led us in the Salute to the Flag. Holly Applegate led the singing of The National Anthem.
Walter Cotter greeted everyone at the door and gave the inspiration as Paul Harris. “I started Rotary in February of 1905. Rotary International came about when we first started a small business group with four people, a coal dealer, a mining engineer, a merchant tailor, and me, Paul, a lawyer. We met first in the mining engineer’s office in the Unity Building on North Dearborn in Chicago. We then ROTATED from one of our office to another for subsequent meetings. When I started Rotary in that February of 1905, I did not foresee a worldwide movement.”
Guests and Visiting Rotarians: Rob Black introduced his mother, Sue and daughter Liz. Don Saracen introduced his wife, Sherie. Cap Willey introduced his granddaughter, Lexie. Visiting Rotarians: Assistant Governor Ed McDonough and PDG Kristine David. Special Guests are Susan Gaunt, Geoff’s mother, and Susan Kearney Kaplan.
Peter introduced Margaret Kane as the undisputed Queen of the Happy Buck and Pete Brock who also was the Queen of Happy Bucks in Margaret’s absence. Representing FSU the 1969 Women’s AAU shotput champion and representing University of Colorado and the NE Patriots. Let the Heavyweight Championship of Happy Bucks begin...
Cap Willey, 2 Happy Bucks, one for Margaret Kane and one for his granddaughter.
Christy Clausen gave one Happy buck for the start of the Providence Summer program that provides 5600 meals a day to children in Providence.
Barbara Harris gave a Happy buck for being here.
Anthony Hollingshead gave two Happy Bucks for Art Norwalk for his Presidency and for Geoff for his Presidency.
Barry Fain gave a Happy Buck for Barbara Harris for her Birthday celebrations.
Wendy Marcus gave dollars toward the Million Dollar meal. She also thanked Susan Gaunt for giving her all the pictures of Geoff that were framed on every table. Thank you to Dale at Providence Picture frame for help in framing. Kelly Perry from Swan Point for dressing the trees and seedlings on each of the tables. Thank you to Mike Kelly and Brian to help plant the trees at the Harry Kizirian School.
Walter Cotter gave a Happy Buck which was worth a lot more in 1905.
Sharon Garland gave two Happy Bucks for outgoing President Art and incoming President Geoff Gaunt.
Don Saracen gave a Happy Buck as congratulations to Geoff Gaunt.
Walter Adamowicz gave 5 Happy Bucks for Art and Geoff and the Boy Scouts.
Arthur Robbins gave 10 Happy Bucks in the memory of Susan and Cy.
Paul Segal gave a Happy Buck for the incoming Slate of Officers.
Bryan Cook gave 2 Happy Bucks for the upcoming year and for a great vacation.
Jim Gilcreast gave Happy Bucks for Art Norwalk and in the memory of Susan and Cy.
Bill David gave a Happy Buck for 71 years and for the first time having a Couples Massage.
Maury Ryan gave 2 Happy Bucks for Art and Geoff.
Kris David gave Happy Bucks for the being at the induction of 49 Police officers, for Geoff as new President and for Art Norwalk for his accomplishments as President.
Margaret Kane gave 50 Happy Bucks for the landing on the Moon.
Connie Donnelly gave a Happy Buck for 7 possible changes for the Super Bowl.
Geoff Gaunt gave 10 Happy Bucks to thank everyone who helped with his installation.
Richard Applebaum gave 2 Happy Bucks for outgoing President Art and new President, Geoff and for the Boy Scouts.
Art Norwalk gave Happy Bucks to thank all the officers who helped him throughout the year.
Peter Loescher determined that Margaret and Pete were both winners as Co-Heavyweight Happy Bucks Champs!!
PDG Kris David conducted the installation of new Board members, officers and President.
New Board members are (l-r) Cap Willey, Margaret Kane, Richard Leone and (not shown) Trish Cirelli and Kevin Kernan.
Incoming officers (-r) Tiffany Bumgardner-Scheffler, Secretary; T. Bryan Cook, President-Elect; Christy Clausen, 2nd Vice President; Holly Applegate, 1st Vice President, and Peter Loescher, Assistant Treasurer. Not shown, Luis Lourenco, Treasurer.
Outgoing Board members were thanked and recognized: Pete Brock, Mary Cullen, Kris David, Don Saracen, Tiffany Bumgardner and Christy Clausen.
Peter Loescher introduced Geoff Gaunt as the 4th owner of Providence Picture Frame which was founded in the mid 1800’s and has been a family run business for over 60 years. Geoff started out at PPF as a part-time designer in 1988. He went on to Providence College where he studied German, Russian, Spanish and photojournalism. He then got a MBA degree in strategic planning. Geoff’s many hobbies include boating, scuba diving, underwater photography, mototcycles, barbeques and above all, his dogs.
In his inaugural remarks: Geoff talked about the great honor to be the president of our Club. He moved back to Providence in 2002 and decided to stay. He said that this club had a lot to do with his decision. He thanked Richard and Susan Kaplan and Don Saracen for encouraging him to be a part of this wonderful organization. He appreciates all our members who are from different backgrounds and interests, but check them at the door! He believes he has big shoes to fill, but is looking forward to working with everyone and to continue to embrace “service above self.”
Executives & Directors
1st Vice President
2nd Vice President
Assistant Treasurer
Executive Administrator
Director to 2021
Director to 2021
Director to 2021
Director to 2021
Director to 2021
Director to 2020
Director to 2020
Director to 2020
Director to 2020
Immediate Past President
Please add to your safe sender list or address book.
To unsubscribe from future e-mails, click here.
To forward this email to your friends, click here.
To view our privacy policy, click here.
102-2060 Winston Park Drive, Oakville, ON, L6H 5R7
ClubRunner is a registered trademark of Doxess Technologies Inc.
© 2016 ClubRunner. All Rights Reserved.